CBS researcher receives prestigious award for extensive research in tourism and experience economy

35-year-old behavioural researcher Florian Kock receives this year’s Tietgen Award of DKK 500,000 for his innovative and comprehensive research in the tourism and experience economy in Denmark.

The Tietgen Award, one of the largest and most prestigious awards in the fields of humanities and social sciences in the Scandinavia, has been awarded to the 35-year-old behavioural researcher Florian Kock. The award, presented at the annual dinner of the ICC Denmark and the DSEB at the Old Stock Exchange in Copenhagen, comes with DKK 500,000.

Florian’s innovative research methods in tourism and experience economy have made him the most cited researcher in his field over the past decade and the most cited researcher at Copenhagen Business School (CBS) over the past three years. Using evolutionary psychology to analyze modern human behaviour, he has been able to map and predict changes in tourists’ travel patterns in light of the COVID-19 pandemic. His insights have proven valuable for both the business community and policymakers as well as the media.

Receiving the Tietgen Award is a significant honour for Florian, who plans to use the DKK 500,000 award to establish a doctoral colloquium. He aims to invite 15 talented young researchers, PhD students, and associate professors from around the world to Copenhagen to exchange and disseminate knowledge. The long-term goal is to attract top talent in the field to Denmark.

The Tietgen Award 2022 was presented on 5 December at the annual dinner of the ICC Denmark and the DSEB at the Old Stock Exchange in Copenhagen, where Alan Leventhal, United States Ambassador to Denmark, was the main speaker. The award was presented by Jacob Roland Munch, professor of economics at the University of Copenhagen and chair of the Tietgen Award Committee.

Facts about the Tietgen Award:

The Tietgen Award has been awarded since 1929, established to mark the centenary of the birth of C.F. Tietgen.The award is one of the most prestigious in Denmark, awarded to young researchers in Northern Europe in recognition of research talents in the business-oriented social sciences and humanities having achieved remarkable results internationally.


The Tietgen Award is awarded by an independent jury, comprising:

  • Professor Jakob Roland Munch from the University of Copenhagen (chair of the jury).
  • Professor Dorte Brogård Kristensen from the University of Southern Denmark.
  • Professor Jes Broeng from the Technical University of Denmark.
  • Professor Simon Calmar from Aarhus University.
  • Professor Signe Vikkelsø from Copenhagen Business School.
  • Professor MSO Kristina Siig from the University of Southern Denmark.
  • CEO Ib Enevoldsen from Rambøll.